Life and SnK reviews

I’ve been away for a little while, and I can’t say a whole lot of blog-worthy material has been on my mind lately, but I wanted to drop at least a few lines here…
NARUTO Gaiden ended about a week or so ago, and the monthly chapter for SNK (Shingeki no Kyojin/Attack on Titan) came out last Thursday!!!
It was a good read and had some great Hanji moments.
Since I haven’t mentioned it before, I’ll take some time to talk about SNK.

snk
Shingeki no Kyojin is amazing.

My family and I were living in Japan when it exploded into popularity (SnK was serialized in 2009, but didn’t become hugely popular until 2013 where it was the second highest selling manga series of the year, with 15,933,801 copies sold in a single year. O_o)
I wasn’t interested at first and originally thought it was ‘too dark’ and ‘pointless’ but in 2014 I decided to give it a second chance.  Definitely one of the best reading choices EVER.

I’m sure a lot of people have heard of Attack on Titan and (if you aren’t engrossed in it) you’re probably wondering what the big deal is anyway.  It’s just a bunch of huge naked humans eating regular humans, right?
Haha well, I thought that too at first…so let me share some interesting things about SnK that play a huge part in why I personally LOVE it.

**SNK is about humanity’s struggle to survive, but it’s not an endgame story.  There is actual hope in it and even though a lot of people die, it’s a story focused on overcoming inner weakness and outer challenges.

**George Wada, the anime’s producer, stated that the “Wall of Fear” was influenced by the isolated and enclosed nature of Japanese culture

**He also said that the inner feelings of every individual is one of the series’ main influences

**Many have analyzed Attack on Titan as representing “the hopelessness felt by young people in today’s society.”  (It’s basically about our generation and the things we are facing.  I would go into just how deep that is, but that would take up an entire book and require a lot of explanation of the Japanese mindset/culture…which a lot of foreigners can’t understand…)

I’m running short on time now, but I will cover more in future posts.  You can bet on it because I am very much invested in the story.
(Also, Hajime Isayama-san, the manga-ka for Shingeki no Kyojin has the same birthday as me…August 29th…)

Until next time then, I hope you’ll consider looking into reading Attack on Titan!!

4 thoughts on “Life and SnK reviews

  1. Hi! I love reading your posts, I’m new to WP do you think you could check out my blog and leave a comment. I’d love some help from someone more experienced as you! Keep it up!

    1. Thank you so much 😀
      I’ll make sure to check your blog ASAP
      a great thing to think about as you start blogging is what kind of image you want to send to your readers.
      How do you want them to feel when they read your blog? Are you trying to make them think? are you trying to promote something? What is the goal of your blog.

      Best of luck!

  2. I agree. I was not impressed by everyone’s reactions at first. I thought that they were just making it a big deal. And the blurb wasn’t really that impressive. But then I finally decided to read it and I got hooked right away. You’re right. It’s one of the best reading experiences ever!

Leave a comment