Chapter 6: Not Sasuke-kun..!!

naruto-1564909(Notice on the cover, that the scroll beneath the one saying “Shinobi” says “Tora”, even though they’re doing the sign for Hitsuji.)

I don’t have any insights to share on this chapter, it runs fairly shallow in character development…though there are some fairly good moments as well.

I love how Kishimoto-sensei explains as he goes (and sometimes refreshes later). That was it’s easier to keep track of what you’re learning.

ill 

We get a small taste of Sasuke’s inner monologue on page 5…

[Right] I love Naruto’s face right here: here At this early point in the series, Kishimoto-sensei seems to be using these kind of “animated” faces a lot…as his style and story matures, you’ll start seeing less and less of them.

It’s amazing how optimistic Naruto is; (it comes from the Senju blood in his veins no doubt.) he seriously thought Kakashi dropped a bell because he was “desperate to escape”.
It is a wonder that Naruto didn’t bang his head on the tree when he was flopping around.  Most of us probably would have… tree

In this chapter, we really see what Kakashi meant when he said that girls Sakura’s age are more interested in boys than Ninjutsu…this training exercise was nothing more than a chance to follow Sasuke around…

The training exercise chapters are the most boring for me; it could be because I’ve watched them a number of times and read them even more that that, I’m not sure.  As I’ve mentioned before, there isn’t that much character depth or background at all…

Best quote from this chapter (It’s been a few years since I last saw this episode with my siblings, and we still quote this part)
Kakashi: “A Shinobi must see the hidden meanings within the hidden meanings”
Naruto: “I get it!”
Kakashi: “No, I’m telling you this because you don’t get it. You think you get it, which is not the same as actually getting it…get it?”

 

2 thoughts on “Chapter 6: Not Sasuke-kun..!!

  1. I have to say, Kakashi has a really gruesome “sense of humor”. I bet Sakura still has nightmares from that one illusion he did. =-=
    I wonder how much Sasuke knew about the skill of jounin. He seemed to think that he could take out Kakashi pretty easily with just a few shuriken. But I guess it’s “if you see the chance, take it”, right?

    1. If She even remembers it…
      I don’t think Sasuke ever really thought there was someone out there that was better than he was (Just Kidding)
      Anyone can be taken out by just a few Shuriken if they aren’t paying attention…don’t you think? After all, it just takes one blow to “Finish the job”

Leave a comment