Chapter 1: UZUMAKI NARUTO

To start, I’m going to make a note about the fact that the first episode was titled “Enter: Naruto Uzumaki!” in english but in the Japanese it’s supposed to be Uzumaki Naruto, since in Japan the last name comes before the first name…this is common knowledge, but I just wanted to point it out just in case someone didn’t know.

If you haven’t read NARUTO yet then this chapter review is not for you.  This isn’t a synopsis, it is filled with small bits of trivia and comments that you will not be able to fully enjoy unless you have read or at least watched NARUTO

That being said, let’s move on to the real stuff…most of this is my observations from reading the chapter, later on when we know more about the Characters I will share my philosophies and theories and [sometimes] give character analysis.

According to the Shinobi who informed the 3rd Hokage that Naruto was painting the statues, the “little rascal” has done it before…everyday, in fact if you see page 5.  So when did he fit in all of his “training?” Did he just stay up really late every night? Or is the actual reason he started as a dunce was because he spent so much time on art instead of Jutsu…    
Here’s some more food for thought; they said that Naruto failed the last 2 graduations before the start of the series…so when did Sasuke graduate? Isn’t he better than Naruto?…Actually, I do wonder if the academy is set up in a way that everyone who graduated has to wait a certain period of time before they are assigned a sensei…because if I think about it, you don’t see any of the “Rookie 9” until the 3rd chapter where everyone has gathered in the classroom to await assignments…this isn’t really important to the story, so we’ll move on.

Naruto puts a LEAF on his head to concentrate before hitting us with the “Jutsu-that-should-not-be-named-or-remembered” I promise you will see this later! (Not the Jutsu…though unfortunately you will…I was talking about the leaf)

Naruto fails the graduation and feels like Iruka was picking on him (he really wasn’t…though as pointed out by the 3rd Hokage afterwards, he was probably holding a grudge against Naruto because of the whole Kyuubi thing).  So Mizuki tells Naruto all about this scroll that is top-secret and Naruto sneaks into the Hokage’s secret vault to steal it.  HOW?? apparently he took down the 3rd with his extreme pervy Jutsu…which is great and all (not) but the 3rd can live with the shame? How can he call himself Hokage after that one?

Konoha is supposed to be one of the greatest and strongest villages in the 5 great countries…this must be true, because they really don’t scramble to do anything…it took half a day for them to organize a proper group to search for the scroll (and Naruto).  What happened? was Kakashi SO crucial to this search that they had to wait for him? I can just image it; “He’s late again!!!” and then he’d show up and be like “Sorry I’m late…I seemed to have overslept” or something like that…=_=*

I really think Iruka is one of the best characters in the series, he had such a big heart, and he was willing to set aside his hate for the 9 tail fox and protect Naruto. He wad the first one to acknowledge Naruto in the series.  The scene where he jumps in front of Mizuki’s attack was one of the most touching in the manga, and when to told Mizuki that Naruto was his important student…I think if it wasn’t for his acceptance, Naruto would have become a totally different person…

Yeah… the monster fox would do that… but Naruto is different. I’ve acknowledged him as… one of my excellent students. He may not be the hardest worker… and he is clumsy and no one accepts him… but he already knows what it is to feel pain inside your heart. He isn’t the monster fox. He is a member of the Konohagakure. He’s Naruto Uzumaki!”  -Iruka

In this chapter we learn of the setting that NARUTO will be taking place, we learn of a basic structure and a little bit of history, government and ambitions.  There is a villain who is ultimately beaten by good, and we are introduced to Naruto’s soon to be signature “I’ll protect those who are my friends no matter what” and “My dream is to become Hokage! to be acknowledged by everyone instead of being looked down on!”  It’s really a wonderful dream Naruto…

I hope you enjoyed my first review, because we’re in for many more! NARUTO really is a great series, it’s become my life as I’ve grown to understand the characters more and more.  If you care to join me on my quest to share the philosophical and emotional deepness of NARUTO, please follow my blog and bring along your friends! 

 

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1: UZUMAKI NARUTO

  1. Did you notice that just before Naruto does “that” jutsu to Iruka, he puts a leaf on his forehead? I thought it was interesting that Kishimoto-sensei put that little detail in, especially since he calls back to it later during one of Naruto’s training sessions. (I forget which one: there’re so many of them. ^-^;)
    Leaves seem to be really important in NARUTO (well, at least in Konohagakure).

Leave a comment