Chapter 2: Konohamaru

naruto-1564827

This seems to be one of the chapters that could be skipped, I consider it “omake” (Extra) and not really conducive to the story.  A brief synopsis of the chapter would go something like this: Some strange kid is trying to kill his grandpa, because he thinks that becoming Hokage is some kind of succession program.  Sorry Konohamaru…it’s not, and even if it was, you’re one generation too late…                                                                                      All of this being said, I’ll move on to the more trivial stuff!
If you notice, the buildings on top of the Hokage Monument, the one on top of the first Hokage looks like a hat…this isn’t important or really that funny…but I noticed.

As you go through NARUTO, you’ll notice that most of what Kishimoto-sensei puts in his story is a homage to the “future” [i.e.later chapters] A prime example of this is Naruto’s pseudo war paint of the first page….it looks a lot like his sennin [sage]-mode later.

I’m not going to pretend that I am a fan of Ebisu, I really think he’s weird, so this review will not be very kind to him…if he is half the ninja he claims to be, why can’t he stop Konohamaru?

Again we see Kishimoto Sensei’s insight when the 3rd Hokage is looking at the 4th Hokage’s statue before we even find out they were related.  I always had a suspicion that they were related, and then there was an “aha!” moment when the suspicion was confirmed.
According to Ebisu, you have to master 1000 jutsu before becoming Hokage…I do wonder if this is actually true or if it goes along with the rest of his lies.

The last 2 pages of the Manga are what make this chapter worth while.  Naruto is very deep for a 12 year old and it was moments like these that made me keep reading!

naruto-1564846

naruto-1564847

One thought on “Chapter 2: Konohamaru

  1. I like this review. I agree that Naruto was very deep for a child. He acted dumb and was careless, at least that’s what it seemed, and then he pulled out a deep moment and it just makes me want to believe in him as being a great character. Guess Tsunade was right; he makes people want to put their bets on him!

Leave a comment